1985. The Return 

is the second album by band Bathory.

Quorthon is back with an another great release and big influence for the worldwide black metal scene. In the same year another group came into the scene like a tornado: Possessed, Celtic Frost,  There were a lot of differences between these two groups but, in their way, they contribute in changing something in metal.

Bathory had just created the masterpiece of black metal and one of the most influentual albums of all time. 

Quorthon explained the album title as such:

We wanted people to just read out The Return…… – as in a second album or a follow-up – and then flip the album over to look for a tracking list. Not finding one, what they got was this apocalyptic poem with the song titles woven into it. Only after listening through the album to the end would you get the full title of the album; “The Return of the Darkness and Evil”


1985. Relentless 

 is the debut album by band Pentagram. It was initially self-released in 1985 as Pentagram, This album is now commonly known as Relentless. 

The album contains a mix of new songs and 1970s-era songs, as will all the Pentagram albums to follow. The record’s heavier sound and obscure lyrical themes helped cement Pentagram’s reputation as one of the pioneers of the classic doom metal style. 

The riffs and the downtuned guitars is what makes this album so damn great and memorable. 

Bobby Liebling       Joe Hasselvander     Victor Griffin      Martin Swaney      

1985. To Mega Therion (meaning the great beast in Greek) 

is the second album by band Celtic Frost, released in October. The cover artwork is a painting by H. R. Giger entitled Satan I. The album was a major influence on the then-developing death metal and black metal genres. 

This truely is a classic and if you don’t pick it up, you’ll be missing out on one of the greatest thrash metal albums of the 80s.This album is a masterpiece!!  

Hard to believe this 3-piece band could put out such killer songs! 

       Tom G. Warrior      Dominic Steiner       Reed St. Mark 


Possessed 03 Burning In Hell

1985. Seven Churches


Possessed 01 The Exorcist

1985. Seven Churches


Possessed 10 Death Metal

1985. Seven Churches


1985. Seven Churches

 is the debut album by band Possessed. The title of the album refers to the Seven Churches of Asia mentioned in the Book of Revelation. “The Exorcist” begins with producer Randy Burns’ version of Mike Oldfield’s Tubular Bells, arranged and performed as it was in the 1973 horror film of the same name. 

 the album was recorded during the Spring Break of 1985 when Pinole Valley High School juniors Becerra and LaLonde had ample time for studio production. Up until the release of the album, the band had practiced at manager Debbie Abono’s house in Pinole, but had formed in the El Sobrante/San Pablo area, which was the location of Torrao’s and Sus’ garage band.

In November of the same year, the band flew to Montreal, Canada for the WWIII Weekend Festival in support of the Seven Churches release, playing alongside Celtic Frost, Destruction, Voivod and Nasty Savage; the concert was Possessed’s first and largest arena appearance, with nearly 7,000 in attendance.

Seven Churches has been interchangeably described as “connecting the dots between thrash metal and death metal”, being “monumental” in developing the death metal style, and as being the “first death metal album”.

I love ‘Scream Bloody Gore’ by ‘Death’ over this album BUT that doesn’t mean this album isn’t great. It’s a classic and like most people who have heard it, it is highly recommended. Especially since it is not only an innovator, but it HELPED Death metal come into play (it did NOT create it like many say, because this is just Thrash Metal played to a more extreme demeanor.)

     Jeff Becerra       Mike Torrao     Larry LaLonde     Mike Sus